Welcome New Members of The Common Application

Aug 11, 2017

Welcome New Members of The Common Application

For the 2017-2018 academic year, more than 750 colleges and universities will use the Common App, the powerful online platform and college planning website that serves and supports over three million students, teachers, and counselors in the United States and around the world every year. The Common Application membership represents influential institutions from 49 U.S. states, 18 countries outside the U.S., and includes over 140 public institutions and 10 HBCUs. 

For more than 40 years, The Common Application has played a leading and innovative role in the college admission process. By becoming a Common App member, these colleges and universities will reach and engage students from across the globe. Students of all means and backgrounds will be able to explore the exceptional programs at each of these institutions and seamlessly submit an application when ready to apply. Students and counselors will also have access to 24/7/365 supportfinancial aid and scholarship opportunities, and the ability to sign up for a free virtual mentor.

"Our new members represent the best in geographic and institutional diversity. Together, they offer unique experiences for our applicants, one-third of whom are the first in their families to go to college, while also sharing our mission of access, equity, and integrity in the college admission process," said Jenny Rickard, The Common Application President & CEO. "We are excited and honored to welcome these colleges and universities into our membership."

Students can create a Common App account or download the free Common App onTrack mobile app now to start exploring the application. Counselors can use Common App Ready, a flexible advising tool, to introduce students and families to the college planning and application processes.

New Members (as of August 2017)
United States

New England

Hellenic College (MA)
Vermont Technical College (VT)


Dominican College (NY)
Fairleigh Dickinson University (NJ)
York College of Pennsylvania (PA)


Appalachian State University (NC)
Barton College (NC)
Catawba College (NC)
East Carolina University (NC)
Eastern Mennonite University (VA)
Emmanuel College (GA)
Florida Polytechnic University (FL)
Jefferson College of Health Sciences (VA)
Lincoln Memorial University (TN)
Louisiana State University A&M-Baton Rouge (LA)
Marshall University (WV)
The University of South Alabama (AL)
Tuskegee University (AL)


Arizona State University (AZ)
University of Arizona (AZ)
University of Houston (TX)


Northwest Christian University (OR)
Otis College of Art and Design (CA)
Southern California Institute of Architecture (CA)
University of Nevada, Las Vegas UNLV (NV)
University of Northern Colorado (CO)
University of Oregon (OR)
University of the West (CA)
University of Wyoming (WY)


Anderson University (IN)
Art Academy of Cincinnati (OH)
Ashland University (OH)
Cleveland State University (OH)
College of St. Scholastica (MN)
Defiance College (OH)
Kent State University (OH)
Missouri University of Science and Technology (MO)
Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (IN)
Tiffin University (OH)
Trine University (IN)
University of Minnesota Morris (MN)
University of Missouri (MO)
University of Missouri - Kansas City (MO)
University of Missouri - St Louis (MO)
University of Saint Francis-Fort Wayne Indiana (IN)
Western Michigan University (MI)
Wheaton College (IL)


Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar
Duke Kunshan University (China)
Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne EHL (Switzerland)
Monash University (Australia)
Queen's University (Canada) 
Robert Gordon University (Scotland) 
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (Spain)
University College Dublin (Ireland)
University of Guelph (Canada)